On the Apparently Placeless
By Nicola tGraef

His interiors appear empty of life, lost. Places without location, a silent standstill. Houses appear, trees, landscapes. Here and there a hedge, a pool, a wall, not much more. The places depicted are dark, almost uncanny, and they seem to hint at something more than themselves. It's almost as if the houses are standing in the midst of nothingness, as memorials to an idea of life, a surrogate human environment. But this idea of life is not alive; it has passed through. What remains is only the idea that it was perhaps once present. What becomes apparent? The landscapes with the houses are arranged, sorted, positioned. Trees line up together; like pearls on a chain, they are situated; houses sit as if in a model landscape-a harmonious choreography, and yet disaffected. The frequent choice of a high vantage point makes everything appear small, miniaturized, unreal. The pictures delineate more an assembly than a description of the world. It's more about an identification of a world than its meaning. "00:36 h" (1998), "Parole" (1999), "Fabrik" (2000), or "Gelände" (2001) testify not to the conditions of human existence, but rather to an objective situation.

It is in this way that the series "Siedlung" (2003) has no remnant of a human connection. These are planned developments, model buildings, and ghost towns. What is left behind is only the name, "Siedlung"- settlement. Yet as a viewer, one would rather not know exactly what is going on behind the closed-up windows. It is the recurrence of an endless monotony, a dreadful monotony. Sid Gastl's works are ambivalent: the arrangement of space causes anxiety, but also wistfulness at the same time. Are these pictures menacing? Could be. Are they ironic? Could be. But Sid Gastl is no cynic. He makes loss perceptible, his pictures highlight a silence that leaves its traces behind. The atmospherics generate a certain poetry that is never intrusive, let alone loud. "Garten" (2004), "Zimmer" (2004), "Park" (2004) -memories, dreams, and phantasms. Hushed, careful, without overconfidence.

"Let me freeze to death" (2007)-again houses, but ever more inaccessible. A state of shock has covered everything, frozen in lifelessness. All is displaced, removed, dissociated. It is about an oversight, an insight, a surrender of sight. But there is something else that pushes its way into the picture. That is this light, this glow, which emanates from the pictures, that defies the engagingly gloomy atmosphere. It's as if someone was looking for something with a large flashlight, even if only a shadow; a shadow that suggests being, authenticity. The light nourishes the hope that not everything here is pure suggestion. It creates light and dark, and concentrates the atmosphere.

More and more concentration. In the series "Zustand der Überprüfung" (2008), everything that definitively indicates humanity is volatilized. Thick forest, tree on tree, ramifications, strains. Nature reclaims its territory. Abstraction gains weight, light plays an ever-diminishing role. "Zustand der Überprüfung"-"State of the Examination"-that sounds rather governmental than forest-like; it doesn't have the scent of pine wood: there's something that needs investigation here, something that has little to do with a hunters' greeting, fairy tales, or the realm of myth. Here it's about a correction, a comparison of what the forest is; and what forest imports, what it could mean. Once more, it's about an idea of something, something that we call forest. In the series "Raum" (2010), Sid Gastl goes a step further, or back-for we see inside the houses for the first time. An unveiling of these dwellings: chairs, a carpet, drapes. Sid Gastl ventures a look inside, attempting to unravel the mystery behind the closed windows. But the sense of nothingness also finds a form in these interiors. These are no empty rooms, no dead rooms; they are simply abandoned, left-behind. Sid Gastl is a painter who trusts in pictures. More so, it seems, than in people. His works stand for themselves, they are there. What he doesn't need to put a picture, the picture itself needs: the viewer, people. As a corrective, as an observer, as an investigator, and as somebody who should pay attention to what they see and what they think they see. To examine where they themselves stand. In the end what remains is what is leftover: loneliness. Aloneness. To be alone.
To be.

<  zurück

Vom scheinbar Ortlosen
Von Nicola Graef

Leblos erscheinen seine Räume, verloren. Ortlose Orte, lautloser Stillstand. Häuser sind zu sehen, Bäume, Landschaften. Hin und wieder eine Hecke, ein Pool, eine Mauer, nicht viel mehr. Dunkel, fast unheimlich erscheinen die Gegenden auf den Bildern, sie scheinen mehr, als dass sie da sind. Die Häuser stehen fast im Nichts, sind Mahnmale einer Idee von Leben, Surrogate menschlicher Umgebung. Doch dieses Leben lebt nicht, es hat sich verabschiedet. Zurück bleibt nur die Idee, dass es einmal da gewesen sein könnte.

Was wird sichtbar? Die Landschaften mit den Häusern sind arrangiert, sortiert, hingestellt. Bäume reihen sich aneinander, wie die Perlen auf einer Kette, sind hingestellt, die Häuser sitzen auf der Landschaft wie in einer Modellwelt - eine stimmige Choreographie und doch entfremdet. Durch die oft gewählte Perspektive von oben scheint alles klein, verkleinert, unwirklich. Die Bilder beschreiben mehr den Aufbau als das Abbild der Welt. Es geht um die Bezeichnung von Welt, weniger um die Bedeutung. "00:36 h" (1998), "Parole" (1999), "Fabrik" (2000) oder "Gelände" (2001) zeugen nicht von den menschlichen Bedingungen des Lebens, sondern von einem objektiven Zustand. So hat auch die Serie "Siedlung" (2003) keine menschliche Verbindung mehr. Es sind Geisterstädte, Planstädte, Modellbauten. Es bleibt nur noch der Name, "Siedlung". Für den Betrachter bleibt unklar was hinter den verschanzten Fenstern passiert. Es ist die Wiederkehr des Immergleichen, des grauenhaft Immergleichen.

Sid Gastls Arbeiten sind ambivalent: die Ordnung der Räume tut weh und schafft gleichzeitig Wehmut. Sind diese Bilder bedrohlich? Mag sein. Sind sie ironisch? Mag sein. Sid Gastl ist jedoch kein Zyniker. Er macht den Verlust spürbar, seine Bilder markieren eine Stille, die Spuren hinterlässt. Die Atmosphären entwickeln eine eigene Poesie, sind nie aufdringlich, gar laut. "Garten" (2004), "Zimmer" (2004), "Park" (2004) - Erinnerungen, Träume und Hirngespinste. Leise, vorsichtig, ohne Übermut. "Let me freeze to death" (2007) - erneut Häuser, aber immer unnahbarer. Die Schockstarre hat sich über alles gelegt, eingefroren in der Leblosigkeit. Alles ist verschoben, entfernt, losgelöst. Es sind Aufsichten, Versichten, Zwischensichten. Doch es gibt etwas, das sich immer wieder ins Bild drängt. Da ist dieses Licht, dieses Leuchten, das aus den Bildern herausstrahlt, sich der einnehmend düsteren Atmosphäre widersetzt. Als ob jemand mit einer großen Taschenlampe nach etwas sucht, und wenn es nur ein Schatten ist. Ein Schatten, der Echtheit, Dasein suggeriert. Das Licht nährt die Hoffnung, dass nicht alles reine Suggestion ist. Es schafft hell und dunkel, verdichtet die Atmosphäre.

Mehr und mehr Verdichtung. In der Serie "Zustand der Überprüfung" (2008) verflüchtigt sich alles, was an den Menschen erinnert endgültig. Dichter Wald, Baum an Baum, Verästelungen, Stämme. Die Natur erobert ihr Revier zurück. Die Abstraktion nimmt zu, das Licht bekommt immer weniger Platz. "Zustand der Überprüfung" - das klingt behördlich, unwäldlich, da duftet nichts nach Kiefernholz - da gibt es etwas zu erforschen, was mit dem Waldmannsheil, dem Märchen, dem Mythischen wenig zu tun hat. Da geht es um eine Korrektur, um einen Abgleich von dem, was Wald heißt und was Wald bedeutet, bedeuten könnte. Erneut geht es um eine Idee von etwas, das sich Wald nennt. Bei den Interieurs (2010) geht Sid Gastl einen Schritt weiter, oder zurück, denn es ist der Blick in die Häuser - erstmalig. Enthüllungen der Behausungen - Stühle, ein Teppich, eine Gardine. Sid Gastl wagt den Blick ins Innere, versucht, das Geheimnis hinter den Fenstern aufzuspüren. Doch auch im Inneren nimmt das Nichts Gestalt an. Doch es sind keine leeren Räume, keine toten Räume, sie sind verlassen, zurückgelassen. Sid Gastl ist ein Maler, der dem Bild vertraut. Mehr, so scheint es, als dem Menschen. Seine Arbeiten stehen für sich, sind da. Was er im Bild nicht braucht, braucht das Bild: den Betrachter, den Menschen. Als Korrektiv, als Beobachter, als Forscher und als jemanden, der aufpassen soll, was er sieht und was er meint zu sehen. Zu überprüfen, wo er selbst steht. Am Ende bleibt, was bleibt: die Einsamkeit. Das Alleinsein. Das Allein. Das Sein.

<  zurück